Waiting for Harper Lee’s “Go Set a Watchman”? Try These Read-alikes for “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Sadly, there has been a backlash of sorts to the stunning announcement that a new Harper Lee novel, Go Set a Watchman, written before To Kill a Mockingbird but set later and subsequently lost, will be published in July 2015. Unconfirmed reports that the ailing Lee may not have been fully aware of what she was authorizing began to appear on the Internet like algae along the edges of a swimming pool; such suggestions were quickly denied by various people close to the author, but algae is very difficult to clear away once it has taken hold.

Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story.

Levithan, David (author).
Mar. 2015. 208p. Dutton, hardcover, $17.99 (9780525428848). Grades 9-12.
REVIEW. First published February 15, 2015 (Booklist). He’s baaack: Tiny Cooper, the larger-than-life costar of Levithan and John Green’s Will Grayson, Will Grayson (2010), claims center stage in the former’s latest, which—according to its title page—is “a musical in novel form (or, a novel in musical form).” Either way, the book is presented as being a two-act script for Tiny’s epic autobiographical musical, Hold Me Closer. Act 1 charts his childhood and struggle to come out to his family and friends, who are less than surprised by the revelation, seeing how Tiny is, as his friend Will once put it, “the world’s gayest person who is really, really large.”

Rapture, Blister, Burn: A Tour de Feminism

It’s a pressing question: with the many freedoms engendered by women’s lib, how should women lead their lives? As homemakers, professionals, or both? As virgins, sluts, or . . .  ? In Rapture, Blister, Burn, now playing at the Goodman Theatre here in Chicago, there is little consensus. Directly discussing feminist theory (and showing an impressive display of knowledge by the playwright), the four female characters debate the myriad ways one can answer such questions.

Pages