About the Award

About the I Love My Librarian Award

 Sign up here to be notified about future I Love My Librarian Award activity.

The I Love My Librarian Award encourages library users to recognize the accomplishments of exceptional public, school, college, community college, or university librarians.

10 librarians in 2015 received a $5,000 cash award, a plaque and a travel stipend to attend an awards reception in New York hosted by Carnegie Corporation of New York. In addition, a plaque given to each award winner’s library.

Members of the 2016 I Love My Librarian Award Selection Committee:

  • Sari Feldman, Immediate Past President, American Library Association
  • Felton Thomas, Jr., President, Public Library Association
  • Leslie Preddy, Past President, American Association of School Librarians
  • Ann Campion Riley, Past President. Association of College & Research Libraries

The award is a collaborative program of Carnegie Corporation of New York, The New York Public Library, The New York Times and the American Library Association.

Read about the winners from 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016.

In order to be eligible, each nominee must be a librarian with a master’s degree from a program accredited by the American Library Association in library and information studies or a master’s degree with a specialty in school library media from an educational unit accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education.

Nominees must be currently working in the United States in a public library, a library at an accredited two- or four-year college or university or at an accredited K-12 school.