2010 I Love My Librarian Award Winners

I Love My Librarian Award 2010



Congratulations to the 10 winners of this year's I Love My Librarian Award! Thank you to the 2000 library supporters who sent in nominations. Read on to learn more about this year's winners.


Nominations for the 2013 Carnegie Corporation of New York/New York Times I Love My Librarian Awards are now closed. Winners will be announced in December.


Questions Email Megan McFarlane, Campaign Coordinator, American Library Association, mmcfarlane@ala.org.




Laura Farwell Blake


Laura BlakeHarry Elkins Widener Memorial Library
Harvard University
Cambridge, Mass.

Photo credit: Peter Reuell, Harvard College Library

“Routinely described to prospective graduate students as being the number one reason to attend Harvard for an English Ph.D.”

Read the nomination (PDF)

Paul "The Library Guy" Clark


Paul ClarkClay County Library System
Fleming Island, Fla.


Used vacation time to lobby for state aid for Florida libraries.

Read the nomination (PDF)

Ellen M. Dolan


Ellen Dolan Shrewsbury Public Library
Shrewsbury, Mass.


Created community partnerships to help maintain library services and hours.

Read the nomination (PDF)

Jeff Dowdy


Jeff DowdyBainbridge College Library
Bainbridge, Ga.


Exceptional customer service to the college’s students and faculty.

Read the nomination (PDF)

Melissa McCollum


Melissa McCollumCounty of Los Angeles Public Library
Lawndale Library
Lawndale, Calif.


“Love of community is evident in everything Melissa McCollum does.”

Read the nomination (PDF)

Kelley I. McDaniel


Kelly McDanielHelen King Middle School
Portland, Maine



Imagination and innovation.

Read the nomination (PDF)

Patricia J. Updike


Patricia UpdikeWebb Street School
Gastonia, N.C.


Helps students with disabilities experience classic literature.

Read the nomination (PDF)

Doug Valentine


Doug ValentineMcKillop Elementary School
Melissa, Texas

"Everything Mr. Valentine touches becomes a priceless lesson in sharing for students and teachers alike.”

Read the nomination (PDF)

Christina Wagner


Christine WagnerGoodman South Madison Branch Library
Madison, Wisc.

A “tireless activist for social justice;” hosts programs to help low-income adults get an education.

Read the nomination (PDF)

Stefanie Wittenbach


Stephanie WittenbachTexas A&M University-San Antonio
San Antonio, Texas


Built library services from the bottom up on a new university campus.

Read the nomination (PDF)