RUSA Announces Its 2010 Award Winning Books in Three Categories

By on

Originally appeared on the RUSA blog.

The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) has announced its 2010 selections for The Reading List, The Notable Books List, and The Sophie Brody Award.

The 2010 Reading List

The Reading List, one of the awards administered by the Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) of RUSA, annually recognizes the best books in eight genres: adrenaline (which includes suspense, thriller, and adventure), fantasy, historical fiction, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction, and women’s fiction. This year’s list includes novels that will please die-hard fans as well as introduce new readers to the pleasures of genre fiction.

The winning titles were selected by the Reading List Council, whose members include Joyce Saricks, Chair, Downers Grove, IL; Jacqueline Sasaki, Vice-Chair, Ann Arbor District Library; Jennifer Baker, Seattle Public Library; Kathleen Collins, University of Washington Libraries, Seattle; Mari Miller-Lamb, Long Island University, Brooklyn; Sharron Smith, Kitchener Public Library; Tapley Trudell, San Antonio Public Library; Kimberly Wells, Denton Public Library; Neal Wyatt, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA; and Alan Ziebarth, Chicago Public Library.

See the full 2010 Reading List.

The 2010 Notable Books List

Since 1944, the Notable Books Council has annually selected a list of 25 very good, very readable and at times very important fiction, nonfiction and poetry books for the adult reader. Books may be selected because they possess exceptional literary merit; expand the horizons of human knowledge; make a specialized body of knowledge accessible to the non-specialist; have the potential to contribute significantly to the solution of a contemporary problem; and/or present a unique concept.

The winners were selected by the Notable Books Council, a group of RUSA members and readers’ advisory experts from around the country. This year’s committee included Alicia Ahlvers, chair, Kansas City Public Library; Susie Brown, Shaker Heights Public Library; Julie Elliott, Indiana University-South Bend; Lucy Lockley, St. Charles City-County Library District; Valerie Taylor, Lewisville Community Library; Elizabeth Olesh, Nassau Library System; Jessica Pigza, New York Public Library; Nancy Pearl; A. Issac Pulver, Saratoga Springs Public Library; Heather Robideaux, Fayetteville Public Library; Nonny Schlotzhauer, Pennsylvania State University; and Andrea Slonosky.

See the complete 2010 Notable Books List.

The 2010 Sophie Brody Award

The Sophie Brody Award, also selected by the Collection Development and Evaluation Section (CODES) of RUSA, is funded by Arthur Brody and the Brodart Foundation and is given to encourage, recognize and commend outstanding achievement in Jewish literature. Works for adults published in the United States in the preceding year are eligible for the award.

The winner and three honor books were selected by the Sophie Brody Medal Committee, whose members include Sarah Barbara Watstein, Chair, UCLA; Richard Bleiler, University of Connecticut; Carol Gladstein, McMinnville Public Library; Jack Forman, San Diego Mesa College; Amy Harmon, Cleveland Heights University; Ellen Loughran, Hunter College and Pratt Institute; Teresa Portilla Omidsalar, CSU Los Angeles; Katharine J. Phenix, Rangeview Library; Kaite Mediatore Stover, Kansas City Public Library; Pauline Swartz, Mount San Antonio College; Barry Trott, Williamsburg Regional Library; and Miriam Tuliao, New York Public Library.

 See the 2010 Sophie Brody Award winner and honor titles.